The Motet to Bring the Funk On Tour This Winter/Spring


16 March 2015

Progressive funk collective The Motet are back on the road this winter/spring, including a home-state ski town run throughout Colorado, New Orleans plays during this year’s Jazz and Heritage Festival, and more.  Already on the books for summer – the band’s highly anticipated return to Red Rocks Amphitheatre, this time with co-headliners Lettuce, and festival plays including Electric Forest, Summer Camp, High Sierra Music Festival and many others.  See below for the complete list of currently confirmed Motet dates, with many more still to be announced.
 
This May, The Motet bring their own brand of funk to the birthplace of funk, playing New Orleans Jazz Fest late nights.  Look for The Motet at Maison on May 2 (original sets) and at The Howlin’ Wolf gig on May 3, where they’ll play their epic “Mixtape 1975” show for one night only. The Motet’s famed cover set shows, where the band performs music of their favorite funk influences (either an album in its entirety or a “mixtape’ of songs popular in a chosen year) are joyous, full of surprises and legendarily raucous. Started as over as decade ago in Colorado, they have since become a beloved Halloween tradition.  And while band tours nationwide throughout the year delivering their deep catalogue of original material, it’s rare they bring these special sets out on the road. The cover shows have served not only to pay back the band’s fans for their loyalty but also to enhance The Motet’s understanding of who they are. Says The Motet’s drummer and founder Dave Watts, “We feel that it’s crucial to know the roots of any style of music so that you can speak the language.”
 
The complete list of The Motet’s currently confirmed dates is as follows:
Thursday, March 26 The Kessler Theater Dallas TX with Mingo Fishtrap
Friday, March 27 Head for the Hills Kerrville TX
Saturday, March 28 Canyons Resort Park City UT
Thursday, April 2 Club RED Mountain Village CO
Friday, April 3 Belly Up Aspen Aspen CO
Saturday, April 4 Gondola Plaza Steamboat Springs CO
Thursday, April 23 Gypsy Sally's Washington  DC
Friday, April 24 Some Kind of Jam Festival Schuylkill Haven PA
Friday, May 1 Luminosa Festival Trinity TX 
Saturday, May 2 The Maison New Orleans LA
Sunday, May 3 The Howlin Wolf  New Orleans LA
Friday, May 22 Summer Camp Chillicothe IL
Friday, June 5 Red Rocks Amphitheatre Morrison CO with co headliners Lettuce, plus Exmag and DJ Jazzy Jeff
Friday, June 19 4 Peaks Festival Bend OR
Thursday, June 25 - Friday, June 26 Electric Forest Rothbury MI
Thursday, June 25 Built to Last Festival Morristown MN
Saturday, July 4 - Sunday, July 5 High Sierra Music Festival Quincy CA
Friday, July 31 Salmonfest Festival Ninilchik AK
Saturday, August 1 Southeast Alaska State Fairgrounds Haines AK
Sunday, August 16 For The Funk of it Festival Belden CA
Saturday, September 5 Backwoods Music Festival Stroud OK
 
Tickets and information available at www.themotet.net




Tags:

Suggested Articles:

S&S Presents

Valley Hush 2/3/2017

ALBUM OF THE MONTH

OCTOBER 2017

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

VIDEO SPOTLIGHT




S&S PLAYLISTS